top of page

Public Safety Communications Advisory Committee

In September 2022, the Darke County Commissioners established the Public Safety Communications Advisory Committee, which is a volunteer advisory committee for the purpose of making recommendations to the Board of County Commissioners and the Sheriff on matters relating to their authority to operate a countywide public safety communications system. The Advisory Committee will meet at least biannually.


The Advisory Committee is comprised of the following members: 


One County Commissioner


Two Fire Chiefs (representing village or township agencies) - Chief Brian Pearson, Versailles Fire; Chief Kurt Troutwine, Arcanum Fire

Two Police Chiefs (representing village agencies) - Chief Josh Bolin, Versailles Police; Chief Marcus Ballinger, Arcanum Police

Two EMS Chiefs - Chief Eric Burns, Tri-Village Rescue; Chief Terry Shroder, Arcanum Rescue

One City of Greenville Public Safety Chief - Chief Russ Thompson, Greenville Fire

One City of Greenville Emergency Communications Supervisor or Dispatcher - Lt. Dean Flanery

County Sheriff or Designee - Sheriff Mark Whittaker

County 911 Coordinator - Melissa Hawes

County Emergency Management Director - Mindy Saylor

Member of the Board of Township Trustees - Ty House

Mayor of a Village in the County - Mayor Matt Harrison

Citizen at Large - Eric Fee 

bottom of page